The Holly Inn opened Dec. 31, 1895. Located in the heart of the Village, the Four Diamond hotel features 82 guest rooms and suites each as unique as the hotel itself.
New Year’s Eve is of our favorite days of the year.
We’ve got two reasons – the Holly Inn and Carolina Hotel.
The Holly Inn opened to 20 guests on Dec. 31, 1895, launching the first New Year in Pinehurst history.
Guests paid $3 to spend the night at the modern facility, which had electric lights and steam heat. It included both billiard and card rooms. Each guest room was equipped with a call bell and the finest hair mattresses.
Pinehurst’s first hotel brought more visitors to the area, prompting the need for additional accommodations.
Construction of the Carolina Hotel got underway in 1898 and the Holly Inn expanded in 1899.
Construction of the Carolina Hotel began in 1898. The doors opened Jan. 1, 1901. The hotel now has 230 Four-Diamond guest rooms including suites.
The four-story Colonial Revival was the largest frame hotel in North Carolina with 250 guest rooms when it opened Jan. 1, 1901.
We’ve celebrated New Year’s Eve in style for more than a century. This year, guests will enjoy the music of the Band of Oz as they countdown to 2015. After the clock strikes twelve, they’ll have access to an overflowing midnight breakfast buffet fit for a king.
Members celebrate New Year’s Eve at the Pinehurst Country Club in 1947.