Next spring, Pinehurst will open the doors of a new craft brewery and restaurant in The Village of Pinehurst. The Pinehurst Brewery will occupy what was the original Village steam plant, which was built in 1895, and will retain the original brick façade and much of the character of the historic building. The steam plant’s signature smokestack will serve as a welcome beacon for guests seeking a unique drinking and dining experience.
About the Pinehurst Brewery
The Pinehurst Brewery will be within walking distance of all resort hotels.
The Pinehurst Brewery will feature on-site brewing and comfortable indoor and outdoor seating, including a beer garden.
Much of the original brick and façade will be used in the restoration of the building, including its unique brick corbeling and original steel windows.
A portion of the outdoor seating will be covered by a trellis designed to mimic the original trolley track that brought coal into the steam plant, which was located in the same area. The design will incorporate the original pylons that held the track in the early 1900s.
The plant’s original arched entrance will be recovered, and the new arched opening will be filled in with a glass entryway.
Also included in the renovation will be the return of the smokestack, which was a defining landscape feature of the original Village. The smokestack will be restored in relation to the scale of the renovation and may use the original base, which still remains.
The Pinehurst Brewery will be an ideal setting for group functions, with special sections reserved for private party use only.
About the Original Pinehurst Steam Plant
Originally known as the Power House, the steam power plant began operation on Dec. 31, 1895, allowing for The Holly Inn to provide electricity and steam heat when it opened its doors to its first guests that New Year’s Eve. For decades, the steam plant provided heat and electricity for the Village’s hotels, cottages, businesses and trolleys, allowing Pinehurst to prosper from its earliest days.